Woking Football Club Presentation Evening 2016/17

Nick Shaw
1:56pm, Wed 26th Apr 2017
Woking Football Club held their annual dinner and presentation evening on Sunday in the Geoff Chapple Lounge.

First Team Awards

The Woking Football Club Player of the Season award, as voted for by the fans, went to Keiran Murtagh, with Geoff Chapple presenting the award.

Keiran with his collection of awards

Keiran also received three other awards on the night, starting with the Woking News & Mail Player of the Season, the Cards Trust Player of the Season presented by Trust chairman Rupert Phillips, and the Players’ Player of the Season presented by club sponsor Andrew Laithwaite. On Saturday, Keiran was also awarded the Junior Cards Player of the Season, to take his total number of awards to five!

It wasn’t a clean sweep for midfielder though, as Gozie Ugwu was awarded the Manager’s Player of the Season by Garry Hill!

Gozie Ugwu receiving his award from Garry Hill

Goal of the Season

The awards section of the evening kicked off during dessert with everyone’s eyes glued to the televisions to watch the top 10 goals of the season as voted for by the fans.

The winner, of course, was Joey Jones’ fantastic long-range strike at Forest Green Rovers! Joey picked up 36% of the votes, with Fabio Saraiva’s brilliant goal at home to Bromley picking up 26% in 2nd place and the quick counter attack away at Stockport County in the cup which resulted in Gozie Ugwu’s 1st goal that day received 9% in 3rd place.

Watch the top 10 goals below.

Clubman of the Year

The Clubman of the Year award was presented by Peter Jordan to long term volunteer Peter Stillwell. A big thank you to Peter Stillwell for everything he has done over the years!

Peter Stillwell receiving his award from Peter Jordan

Academy Awards

First team coach Steve Thompson and academy manager Scott Harrison presented the Academy awards, with Charlie Hester-Cook winning the Academy Player of the Year and Under 18s Players’ Player of the Year. The Under 19 winner was Lezor Stojsavljevic and the Under 23 winner was Matt Russell.

Thanks to BBC Surrey’s Gary Smith for compering the evening, we would also like to thank him for his excellent commentary throughout the season!

Visit the Photo Gallery to see more images from the evening.

Shop Online

adidas 2022/23 Away Kit

adidas 2022/23 Away Kit

adidas Kitlocker Laithwaite Financial Services Boz's Fruit and Veg BCAS Jewson Lovetts Solicitors Mayford Motors MKJ Prince and Sons Rams FM Seymours Specsavers The National League Vanarama

Woking Football Club Limited
A company incorporated in England and Wales (company number: ‍03329172)
Registered office The Laithwaite Community Stadium, Kingfield, Woking, Surrey, GU22 9AA

Click here to read our Data Protection Privacy Policy
Click here to read our Accessibility Statement